Skip to content

The Black Ivy

October 25, 2010

While I originally saw The Black Ivy photos on Unabashedly Prep a month ago, I recently visited Street Etiquette and saw the slideshow and accompanying video.


The Black Ivy from Street Etiquette on Vimeo.

Seeing the project reminded me of how I felt back in high school in the late 80s. I had become interested in Ralph Lauren through the multi-page ad campaigns he ran in magazines. But as time went on and I gained more self-confidence, I realized that I didn’t see anyone who looked like me, and as much as I wanted to aspire to that “lifestyle”, I wasn’t a white kid who was destined for an Ivy League school. Those feelings came back while flipping through Take Ivy a few days after its release. But after viewing the slide show and seeing the historical photos of black Ivy League students from the mid-20th century, I remembered what I discovered during my own college days–that style doesn’t depend on skin.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

