Skip to content

Matthew Carter would never cheat on this woman

February 16, 2010

Whether you know it or not, you see Matthew Carter‘s work everyday. Matthew is a typeface, or font, designer. The 2 fonts of his that you see almost everytime you are on a computer are Georgia–the font this blog uses–and Verdana. In the field for over 40 (now edging 50) years, he has seen type technology evolve from punchcuts to digital. In fact, helped found one of the first companies to offer fonts for computers, Bitstream, in 1981.

Despite that forward vision, most of the fonts that Carter has designed or co-designed have classical elements in them.

Mantinia from Font Bureau

If you’re a Yalie, you get exclusive access to Carter’s Yale typeface, designed especially for the university.

My personal favorite of Carter’s is Miller, which is used in a lot of magazines as a text font. A Scotch Roman, it’s clean, easy to read, classic and modern at the same time. The refined older brother of Georgia, if you will.

While Miller is a bit of a workhorse, reserved mainly for text use, I have seen it used quite effectively in headlines. My favorite example came in the December 2003 issue of GQ (US):

Psst, it’s on the left. I’ve become such a type nerd in the past few years that when I first saw this spread in the magazine, my eyes were totally drawn to the left page. Besides, Uma is like Avatar for me–everyone raves about it, but I just thought it was okay. My wife knows that she prefers the blondes, I like the brunettes.

One Comment
  1. February 16, 2010 8:48 am

    Cool fonts!

    Your last paragraph was funny. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.

