Skip to content

The Art of the Shave

November 13, 2010

I’m the type of guy who only has to shave every other day. Not really because I can’t, but my day job is relatively casual, so I can get away with a little stubble.

The other day, we were at the mall and I had noticed that The Art of Shaving had opened a store, so we walked in. Nice stuff, but a little on the pricey side. Besides, I have two shave brushes already, though I’ll need a new razor once I’ve gone through my pack of disposables I had to buy on my last trip.

Of course the razor I liked was their horn razor, which turned out to be $450 for the brush, razor and stand. And I didn’t need any shaving soap, so we just browsed for a bit and left.

I’ve been using a brush and soap for around 12 years and will never go back to out of a can. A brush just works better for my skin and I find that I rarely nick myself. Plus, even though a jar of shave soap costs way more than a can, it last me 4 times as long, so in the end I spend less money. Right now I’m using a jar of Omega which my wife bought me 2 years ago, though I didn’t start using it till early this year. It’s alright, but not my favorite. Prior to that, I used J. Peterman’s 1903 for years. I bought about 4 jars back when their stores shut down 10 years ago, which lasted me years. I bought a new jar 2 years ago, but they changed the formulation from a hard soap to a thick cream. It still had the great 1903 fragrance, but it wasn’t the same.

When I travel, I don’t want the hassle of TSA losing my brush, so I use a cream out of a tube and just apply with my finger. In the past I used Kiehl’s Ultimate Brushless Shave Cream which I’d received in a gift pack, but since running out I now use C.O. Bigelow’s Premium Shave Cream. Both work great, though I prefer the Kiehl’s which has less of a cooling after effect.

Even though I’ll never use a can again, I can appreciate a classic Noxzema ad:

3 Comments
  1. November 13, 2010 6:34 am

    This is the ultimate. Used to have an AOS shop across from my office. Used to go in and drool over their offerings.

    I’ve become a lazy man in my older days. I do a shave (actually a trim with the electric clippers) once a week and keep myself as geroge michael-looking as possible. My boss gives me sh!t for it everyday, but oh well, if women can wear flip flops to the office, I can have a light beard.

  2. Eddie permalink
    November 13, 2010 6:15 pm

    To thank you for your wonderful posts and as a blade and brush shaver I offer the following suggestions:

    A few years ago at The Body Shop I found a inexpensive travel shaving brush. Hopefully still available.
    If you prefer shaving soap, try Caswell-Massey Almond shaving soap. A traveling lather shaving cream that I have found at Marshalls and T.J. Maxx occasionally is The Real Shaving Co. Moisturising Formula. A pleasant surprise. Otherwise try Musgo Real from Portugal

    I believe a razor should be heavy and not be movable for a close shave. If it could be found, a old Gillette safety razor would be a treat with blades at $6.00 for 10 (Merkur is one brand) or less.

    • November 13, 2010 9:21 pm

      Thanks, Eddie. Before we were married, my wife bought some Caswell-Massey Sandalwood lotion and liquid soap at Marshall’s. I used the lotion for years as an aftershave balm. They used to have a store at a mall near me, but I think it may have shut down. I’ll have to skip the Almond flavor though, as our son is highly allergic to nuts and after a scary hospital visit, we just avoid any products with a nut.

Comments are closed.

