Skip to content

Timberland Abington 5-inch boot review

November 28, 2010

My obsession with brown shoes continues as I purchased the Abington 5-inch boot in brown suede. Made by Timberland, the Abington collection refers to the Abington Shoe Company, which Nathan Swartz bought in 1955 and eventually became Timberland. The current Abington collection uses Horween leathers and Charles F. Stead & Co. suedes.

The boots are part of the Civil Servant Collection, inspired by the footwear of civil servants from the mid-20th century. There are oxfords, which I find rather dull, and boots, which come in black leather and grey or brown suede. I chose the brown suede, which is more of a dark taupe or mushroom, though the grey is just as handsome. The boot is like a refined version of the classic Timberland workboot, with a padded tongue and collar, but a slimmer toe. The sole is a Vibram rubber sole, though thinner than a chunky workboot sole, with a leather midsole. These boots are for walking the city streets rather than the jobsite or back woods. They have a padded in-sole, which is what sold me, as I need that bit of cushioning. Got them for 20% off at a local store during a Black Friday promotion, so I was stoked about that. Minimal break-in, with just a few pressure points where the toes flex that should soften with use. These are my 3rd pair of Timberland shoes, and I have always been happy with the quality and comfort. I’ve definitely gotten my money’s worth out of the previous 2, and expect the same from this pair.




4 Comments
  1. November 28, 2010 8:29 am

    These are by far the best looking Timberlands I’ve ever seen. The cap toe is killer. Nice pick up. Black friday is now known as Brown Friday.

  2. December 2, 2010 2:36 pm

    Did these fit true to size?

    • December 2, 2010 4:55 pm

      Yes, though they were out of my size in the color I wanted, so I am wearing a half size larger with no problem. I had tried the grey suede on a few weeks earlier in my size and they fit comfortably.

  3. December 3, 2010 1:56 am

    That’s a good looking boot!

Comments are closed.

