Skip to content

CH Carolina Herrera stores

December 9, 2010

I first came upon the CH Carolina Herrera store while on a business trip in Las Vegas back in 2006. I was immediately struck by how elegant and modern both the exterior and interior looked. The store had a warm, masculine feel with a definite homage to the work of Jean-Michel Frank, one of my favorite designers. The company opened a store near me in Southern California later that year. My wife was kind enough to get me a few shirts, a pair of pants and a tie from them the following Valentine’s. The men’s clothing has a very traditional American style, but with some South American and European influence, meaning some pieces are more fitted and tailored and color palettes are more daring. The women’s clothing runs in the same vein, though there are a wider variety of styles than the men’s. There are numerous accessories, ranging from the requesite handbag and shoe collection, to more obscure golf and pet collections. I have been happy with the quality of all the pieces that I have obtained and like the quirkiness some of the shirts have. Unlike a lot of European brands, the CH collection is still primarily made in Europe, mainly Portugal and Spain for the menswear.

From the 2010 Autumn/Winter lookbook:


Going back to the store design, most fixtures are made from unstained walnut, though with the recently opened Manhattan location other materials and styles have appeared. While earlier stores were a lot of straight lines and generally masculine, more feminine elements and furniture have appeared, softening the space. The store is split into a series of rooms, that have the ambiance of a very nice metropolitan apartment.















all photos from Carolina Herrera

I think the store and clothing succeed at creating a luxurious atmosphere. Even the scented candles they are constantly burning have a pleasant aroma. Two things I would suggest changing, the facade and the logo accessories. I have seen 3 stores and 2 have cramped facades with store windows that obscure the inside, which seems uninviting. Everytime I walk by the South Coast Plaza store, it is empty, even on weekends when the stores next door are brimming with customers.

The logo accessories bother me because almost all the accessories are covered with them. This is a complaint I have with a lot of fashion brands. It’s just plain lazy design.

One element that doesn’t show up in the pictures is the repeated use of red as an accent. All the packaging is in red, and becomes a visual element through stacked red shoe boxes in the shoe salon. The logo and packaging were done by Fabien Baron.

Portions of this post appeared previously on my other blog

One Comment
  1. December 11, 2010 12:38 am

    Hmm..Interesting. I’ll have to check out the store in my city and have a gander. Thanks.

Comments are closed.

