Skip to content

Levi’s Dry Goods store visit

December 18, 2010

Levi’s opened up a new concept store, Levi’s Dry Goods, nearby me in Tustin, CA. The first of its kind, the store combines the mainline collections from Levi’s Stores and Outlets according to a salesperson I talked to. Though to be honest, I didn’t see any outlet items, unless they were mixed into the jeans offerings along the huge jean walls. The salesperson said that Levi’s wants to open these Dry Goods stores in big box centers, not malls. So that means places that have a Home Depot or Best Buy next door, not a Gap or J. Crew. This worried me when we were driving there, as I thought Levi’s might be trying to do an Old Navy concept, mixing their low-end Signature line with the mainline. Not to worry, as it’s all classic Red Tab.

We dropped by on opening day, but in the evening after it had been raining all day. As we walked up, I could see around 10-12 staff in the store, but couldn’t make out any customers. I hate being the only customer in a store, as every sales person is full of nervous energy and you get a bunch of “Hi, how can I help you…” as you walk through the store. Turned out there were a few customers, but not a lot for opening day.

I snuck a picture of one of the large walls filled with graphics, but couldn’t really get any shots of the interior. The store floorplan is like a capital I, with an entrance at the horizontal bottom of the “I” filled with a long table featuring skinny jeans in a variety of fabrics. Most of the trendy cuts and fabrics for the under-25 set is featured here, at the front. Classic stuff is in the back section, at the top of the “I.” The middle part is filled with two long jean bars with stools in front and walls completely filled with jeans, arranged by the various cuts–501, 505, 514, etc.

An interesting surprise was a number of non-Levi’s items for sale, all made in the USA–HillSide scarves and bandanas, Steele tote bags (good Lord, that canvas is rigid), and two Blk Pine Workshop bags. I also think there was a Pendleton blanket, but I didn’t get a chance to pick it up and inspect. No Filson though.

It will be interesting to see how this concept does. The store is merchandised nicely and has a more open feel than a regular Levi’s Store, but it’s also missing a little of the warmth found in those stores too. But it’s the first one and has only been open one day as of this writing, so all the kinks should hopefully be worked out in the months to come.

Note: sorry about the quality of the pics, but my iPod takes horrible night pictures.

That’s a damn palm tree in the middle of the G and O.


Part of the store window


One of the huge wall graphics on either side of the entrance.


A 501STF postcard

3 Comments
  1. Terri permalink
    December 20, 2010 10:56 pm

    What are the prices Like ?

    • December 21, 2010 12:22 am

      Normal prices with a few promotions here and there. I think they were running a Save $50 when you spend $150. I also saw t-shirts for 2 for $30. A few sale racks.

  2. December 24, 2010 6:12 pm

    Thank You For Sharing !

Comments are closed.

