Skip to content

Pan-Am Flight 001

April 26, 2011
tags:

On Easter we visited my aunt, who used to be a flight attendant for Pan Am back in the 60s and 70s. She brought out some of her mementos she saved and an album of photos from a trip she took with my grandparents and my uncle, who was her fiance back then. They took Flight 001, the famous around-the-world flight which had stops in places like Hong Kong and Paris.

My grandparents aboard Flight 001


My grandparents and aunt above Hong Kong


The cover of the in-flight menu


A route map


A few copies of Wingtips, an in-house magazine/newsletter given to PanAm flight attendants.


The cover of the PanAm Clipper employee newsletter, detailing the new 747 look.


The interior spread detailing more of the 747 look


A few more mementos

My cousin told me that ABC filmed a pilot called Pan Am which is a Mad-Men-esque show about Pan Am flight attendants in the 60s, the heyday of “coffee, tea, or me?” Hopefully it will get picked up. Here’s a classic commercial and a clip from Catch Me If You Can showing that time.


One Comment
  1. April 26, 2011 7:44 am

    How cool! I didn’t know Tante Leen & Oma and Opa did that around the world trip! Cool momentos.

Comments are closed.

