Skip to content

One Last Day of Summer

September 29, 2011

Earlier this week, I took the day off to spend with my wife on her birthday. We pulled my son out of school for the day too, as my sister was in town with her husband and two kids for a very quick visit. We all headed down, along with my parents, to San Clemente, which is the southern-most town in Orange County. The gloomy clouds cleared about 20 minutes into lunch and we ended up with a warm day at the beach. The kids had a ball playing in the shorebreak with just shovels and buckets of wet sand.

I’ve done a lot of posts about products and companies that I like and admire. While I don’t regret any of it, and I genuinely like the things I write about, some weeks I want to come away with some substance and go beyond just appreciating things.

I remember 8 years ago spending the day working at a store outside Disneyland that the company I work for used to own. My son was barely a year old and I was envious of the families I saw making their way to the park. I later told my mom about this and how I couldn’t wait for my son to grow up. She told me not to be in such a hurry, that he’ll grow up soon enough. People only get so many years to be a kid and then you have to spend the rest of your life as an adult, she said. I took that, and my wife’s focus on spending money on experiences versus things, to heart.

Shoes wear out. Jeans fray. Shirts develop holes. Memories last.


My niece, along with my nephew, getting some serious air as a tiny wave comes in.

3 Comments
  1. September 29, 2011 5:59 am

    Priceless. This is the good stuff,for sure.
    There is an Italian saying “La richezza del’uomo e la sua family” – a man’s richness is his family.

    • September 29, 2011 7:13 am

      Thanks, JB. Those Italians, I think they’re on to something.

  2. October 5, 2011 8:46 am

    Love this post. 🙂

Comments are closed.

