Skip to content

Santalum Footwear

December 20, 2011

After both of my parent’s families, and grandma’s cooking, this is the best thing I’ve seen come out of Indonesia. Santalum Footwear handcrafts their shoes, as you’ll see in the next 9 amazing minutes. This video has been going around the #menswear blogs this past week, but I first saw this at A Distinctive Taste. Santalum appears to still be working on their website as of this writing, but they have an active Facebook page and Twitter account.

The prices translate to sub-US$200 for Goodyear-welted and Blake constructed shoes and boots. My suggestion would be to raise the price a little bit and get the craftsmen a brush for the glue. I know, sometimes your hand is better than any tool (T.W.S.S.) but dipping your hand in glue everyday can’t be good for you.

2 Comments
  1. isaac harris permalink
    January 3, 2012 7:44 pm

    where can i buy these. i live in the states

    • January 3, 2012 8:22 pm

      Isaac, I don’t think they have any current stockists in the States yet, but I believe they will ship here. You can contact them via the Twitter and Facebook links I placed in the article.

Comments are closed.

