Skip to content

Costume National Homme eau de parfum review

February 10, 2012

One of the perks of my day job is that I have been given samples of a lot of fragrances in the near decade that I’ve worked there. When I say a lot, I mean a lot. An entire bathroom drawer is full of men’s and women’s fragrances in our apartment–and that’s just the ones we kept. So my nose has become pretty jaded, as most men’s fragrances fall within a few scent “personalities.” You’ve got your “fresh sporty,” the “woodsy date night,” or the “continental businessman.” You know what I mean.

So when Costume National was kind enough to send me a sample of 3 of their fragrances for men for me to review, I found myself pleasantly surprised. Their flagship fragrance, Costume National Homme, is a winner. I’ve never smelled a combination quite like this and it smells amazing. I’ve lived with it for a few weeks, wearing it almost everyday and it’s becoming one of my all-time favorites. It’s very strong, so 1 or 2 spritzes goes a very long way, but my wife likes it and my gay boss likes it too, which if he comments on it one more time it will officially go from flattering to kinda creepy.


I’m horrible at describing notes of a fragrance so here’s the official description of all the notes:
“The fragrance opens with a very fresh blend of grapefruit, cardamom and bergamot. The essence then plunges into the spicy heart of Cinnamon, Thyme and Cloves. In the end, Patchouli, Sandalwood and Labdanum give depth and warmth to the general accord.”

I also received a sample of Costume National Scent. It’s also fairly unique but starts off more fresh and floral. The opening notes are not my particular taste, but my wife likes it, and let’s face it, what your significant other thinks of it is what really matters. The dry down is a little more to my liking. Not as strong as the Homme EDP, but it still has presence. The official description says it starts with a floral hibiscus but gradually makes its way to a rich, golden elixir.

Finally I received a sample of Costume National Scent Intense. Like the name says, it’s a more robust version of Scent. The first note has that classic smell from fragrances developed in the mid-20th century. I know the official description says fresh, but I smell black licorice first. Again, not as strong as Homme EDP but not weak either.

Here is the Scent Intense bottle. The Scent bottle looks the same, but instead of black bold text, it has white.

Costume National fragrances are available at Barneys New York and online at luckyscents. Based on the uniqueness, I recommend starting with the Homme EDP first so you’ll stand out among the other guys at the office or club.

Comments are closed.

