Skip to content

Mike’s Lite Hard Lemonade x Trader Joe’s Sweet Tea

March 18, 2012

The folks over at Mike’s Hard Lemonade were kind enough to send me a few bottles of their Lite Hard Lemonade and Hard Cranberry Lemonade to try out. We brought some to a party with friends and we all agreed Mike’s Lite Hard Lemonade is pretty tasty stuff. It’s carbonated so there’s a bit of a fizz , though not as much as soda, and is not as sweet as regular lemonade usually is. The Hard Cranberry Lemonade tastes good as well and made my wife and her friends reminisce back to their college wine cooler days.

As I mentioned, it’s not as sweet as regular lemonade which should be fine for most people, but I have a bit of a sweet tooth, so I did some experimenting. Since my sister moved to Texas a few years back, I became aware of the Southern drink of “sweet tea.” While it’s primarily a Southern thing, sweet tea is available in limited supply throughout the U.S., though of varying quality and taste. In California, my favorite option is Trader Joe’s Sweet Tea, which is sweetened with cane sugar instead of corn syrup.

So I decided to make a Lite Hard Arnold Palmer in a half-pint glass. It’s just half sweet tea and half Hard Lemonade*. Pretty tasty and once summer comes along, it will make the perfect drink while grilling some burgers.

*You can make a stronger version with Sweet Tea vodka and Hard Lemonade, though I’ve never tried it and am not sure how it would taste.

One Comment
  1. March 18, 2012 8:32 am

    Sounds like a yummy drink!

Comments are closed.

