Skip to content

Ella Fitzgerald biography: Something To Live For

April 2, 2012

I’ve been a fella for Ella for almost 20 years. She’s got a voice that is smooth, expressive, and swinging, and her ability to scat was phenomenal. Over time I’ve purchased several of her albums, some of the Songbooks, and some great live performances. I even snagged a practically brand-new boxed set of her Decca recordings at a library rummage sale for $8. Just something about that voice that just connects with me, and her duets with Louis Armstrong are some of the finest anywhere. Even my 9 year-old son loves her music!

Back in 1999, PBS aired this documentary titled Something To Live For on their American Masters series, narrated by Tony Bennett:

Comments are closed.

