Skip to content

The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier at the De Young

April 17, 2012

Apologies for not posting for a while, but a few things happened: I went on vacation, was sick during the entire vacation, and income taxes were due when I returned from vacation. I’m still a little sick, but here’s a little taste of what I saw on vacation.

We drove up to the San Francisco Bay Area and stayed with a few different people, visiting Napa and San Francisco. Midway through our trip, we stopped by the de Young Museum in Golden Gate Park to see the Jean Paul Gaultier exhibit. I’ve always considered his clothing to be more costume than actual daily wear, and the exhibit reinforced that for me. But his work is stunning none the less.

I was particularly impressed with the staging and use of technology. Models’ faces were projected onto some of the mannequins, making them appear to talk or sing–Gaultier talks from his own mannequin in the opening scene. If you have the chance to visit San Francisco before August, go see this exhibit.

Comments are closed.

