Skip to content

Grain Surfboards

October 1, 2012

I’ve lived my whole life in Southern California, right in the middle of surf culture. The offices of nearly every major surf label are within a 20 minute drive from where I live. In spite of these facts, I’ve never surfed. Bodyboarded a little bit, but any surfer is already rolling their eyes at that phrase.

Still, I appreciate the craftsmanship it takes to make a surfboard and love the look of the classic wood surfboards from the early days of modern surfing. So when I saw wood boards created by Grain Surfboards of York, Maine, I knew I had to learn more.


The Steamer 8′ mini-tanker longboard


The Wherry Fish 6′ – 6’4″ board

The company was started by Mike LaVecchia, a former boat builder who took his love of traditional wood boat-building and transferred those techniques to surfboards. Co-owner Brad Anderson joined Mike soon after and they have grown the business over the past few years. They build boards, sell build-your-own-board kits, and even offer classes at their workshop for those who want the full Grain experience.


The Cider Hill skateboard


The Brixham deck

Unlike the wood surfboards that have been used for ages, Grain Surfboards are not solid wood. Instead the core is hollow with a wood frame for stability surrounded by a wood shell. They offer short and longboards, as well as bodyboards and skateboards.

Comments are closed.

