Skip to content

Review: Johnston & Murphy 1850 Collection Burchfield Chukka

January 5, 2013

Back in early December, Will over at the blog The Momentum launched a contest for a free pair of shoes from the new Johnston & Murphy 1850 Collection. The catch was you had to be able to pick the shoes up at the Sy Devore menswear boutique in Studio City just outside Los Angeles. I entered and won. So on a rainy Saturday morning, I dragged my family up to Sy Devore to claim my prize. Unfortunately, the PR firm who organized the contest didn’t inform the store, but owner Danny Marsh and salesman Vincent were very kind and gracious, allowing me to pick my shoes and offering to ship them to me once they had cleared everything up.

So out of the offerings at the store, I chose the Burchfield Chukka boot. I had been looking for a chukka boot for a long time and liked the look of the Burchfield. It has a crepe sole like a classic desert boot, but a stacked heel and narrow, refined shape closer to a dress shoe.

J&M_1850_Burchfield1

J&M_1850_Burchfield2

J&M_1850_Burchfield3

While the vamp and tongue were initially tight, the store stretched it for me, and after a few hours of wear, it fits fine. Adding to the comfort is the padded insole and arch support.
J&M_1850_Burchfield4

J&M_1850_Burchfield5

J&M_1850_Burchfield6

The heel and toe are burnished, giving the brown full-grain leather a dark, vintage appearance.
J&M_1850_Burchfield7

J&M_1850_Burchfield8

The shoes have a slightly lower profile than previous chukka boots I’ve owned, coming up just to the bottom of my ankle bone, but seem to be sturdy and are very comfy. I look forward to wearing them for years to come.

Thanks to Will at The Momentum, Danny and Vincent at Sy Devore, and Johnston & Murphy.

Comments are closed.

