Skip to content

Angel’s Envy Rye Whiskey

June 1, 2013

The folks over at Louisville Distilling Co. were nice enough to send me a sample of their Angel’s Envy Rye to review. I am relatively inexperienced with whiskey but I think I may be ruined with other whiskies, as this was exquisite.

The whiskey is aged for 6 years in new charred oak barrels, then finished off in Caribbean rum casks for up to 18 months. This tempers the spiciness of the 95% rye and 5% malted barley with a sweetness from the rum. This gives the whiskey a nice, sweet aroma and a smooth sweet/dry finish.

I’m admittedly a lightweight, but I poured a finger or two on the rocks for my initial tasting. I liked it, but at 100-proof I could only manage a few sips before I was afraid of turning into Mr. Furley. Wondering if I might be unleashing my inner-Barney, I mixed it with some cola and was quite pleased. My wife had a sip and asked me to make her one as well. She said this was something she could definitely drink, as she requested it for the next couple of nights until we finished the sample.

Since it is a super-premium whiskey, Angel’s Envy Rye is limited to just 2,500 9-liter cases and only available in select states in the U.S. It’s packaged in a beautiful Italian-glass bottle that’s hand filled and corked in Louisville. The suggested retail is $69.99 for a 750mL bottle, but it’s worth searching for. With Father’s Day coming up, you might just bring a tear to the old man’s eye if you give him a bottle.

4_bottle_rye

Comments are closed.

