Skip to content

Reyn Spooner Lahaina Sailor Shirt

August 4, 2013

I think it’s in the state constitution that once a male California citizen turns 40, they have to buy a Hawaiian shirt. Go sit outside of a nice restaurant on a Saturday night and watch the guys dropping their car off at the valet. Over half of them will be wearing a Hawaiian-shirt. And typically, the nicer the car, the louder the shirt.

As the age of most of these men matches their waistline, these shirts tend to be the classic boxy style in rayon or silk. It creates an unfortunate “tent” effect that flatters very few. But I guess once you have a few Mai-Tais in you…

So I happened to be at Moonlight Graham in Orange, CA the other day, and they had a small selection of Reyn Spooner shirts on sale. Reyn Spooner is a classic Hawaiian brand that was big in the 1960s and have made a comeback lately. Part of that comeback was launching a collection of shirts with a modern, slimmer cut (look for the navy label).

There were a bunch of styles, many in their classic “reverse-print” which means they sew the shirts with the printed side inwards, which creates a faded look. The shirt I picked was from their classic collection, which meant I had to size down in order to get a slimmer cut. It is in their Lahaina Sailor print, which appealed to me as it was the company’s first design, inspired by bandanas that sailors wore. Also, I honeymooned in Lahaina, so it has sentimental value. My wife was ecstatic, as we will be taking a family trip to Oahu in a few months and apparently I had nothing to wear.

Is it loud? Well, it’s not quiet, but I did stick to just 2 colors, blue and white, so it’s sort of neutral. At least for a Hawaiian-print. Long time readers may remember that my Law of Plaid also applies to Hawaiian-prints, so shop carefully. I’m happy to get a classic shirt for a great deal, and get it in a fit that will hopefully allow me to enter middle-age a bit more stylishly. I’m off to get a Pina Colada.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A closeup of both sides of the fabric, the outer “reverse-print” on the left, and the inner side with the actual print:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The fabric is Reyn’s “Spooner Kloth” which is a blend of combed cotton and poly. More sturdy, and cooler, than rayon and IMO more masculine:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back in the 50s and 60s, Reyn was known as the “Brooks Brothers of the Pacific” with Ivy-style influences like pop-over shirts, or like my shirt’s button-down collar with an ultra-Ivy third button on the back of the collar. You can see the stitching above the label:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Comments are closed.

